top of page
Search
taminaionanimation

Sci-Fi Doors

So after completing the "Kitchen" project I knew I wanted to move onto something without using any references or tutorials so I dove into some of my old drawings that I did a while back and found these 4 Sci-fi doors and hatches that looked cool and decided that these where what I wanted to make.


(Not important but still) Normal people would make these doors from top left to bottom right but since I'm not normal and wanted to make the bottom right door last I decided to make them top left, bottom right, top right then bottom left.


The first door is actually more of a hatch and also out of all four is the second best one I made. Originally I Didn't plan on really making any animations but then I thought up this animation in my head for the first door which is the only door that actually has a locking mechanism built into it so I decided to make a quick animation once I had made all the models.

I rendered the first video at 35 frames and then for the second I just slowed it down by a factor of 4 for 140 frames.


I realised early on that the second door was going to be more trouble than its worth since this is the door I wanted to originally animate but since it ended up being more trouble I ended up abandoning it.

The third door is kinda lame and plain there was not much going on with this door and to be honest I didn't even bother to make the locking mechanism indicated on the drawing I made.

The forth and last door is the one I wanted to spend the most time on and to make look the best since it had extra screens for "diagnostics" and a biometric hand scanner and I wanted it to really look the part so I spent about 3-4 days just working on this one model I didn't make my own textures I just put some basic materials on it.

An issue I ran into while making these models is one that I have bumped into quite alot on a few of my models and especially in the "Kitchen" project.


The solution Is to add in more geometry so that its not trying to go from smooth to sharp to smooth and instead going smooth sharp sharp sharp smooth if that makes any sence it also helps to turn on auto smooth with about 50-70 Degrees.

For the Diagnostic and biometrics screen I went online and found two images that would suit my needs and tweeked them in Photoshop so that they where the rightish color of my lights but I made them slightly darker.

The first of the two images I tried was the biometric handprint and I set it up with a mix shader which did the thing that I wanted but I wanted to be able to change the color of the handprint without effecting the color of the light seen in picture 2 and I tried for about an hour to fix the issue before I posted the problem on "The Blender Hub" Discord which someone pointed out that it was an easy fix of using the ALPHA channel as my factor input (Picture 3) and then inverting the Shaders (top and bottom of the mix shader Picture 4)

(Use the Slideshow)

Another issue I ran into that one that random circles keep appearing even though there is nothing like that in my scene or so I thought and I had this issue in the "Kitchen" project and now I finally know why they are caused by my sun Lights and to remove them from the render is actually quite simple I just needed to turn off the transmission and glossy in the ray viability settings so now I know and wont have the issue anymore (and no I wont rerender the kicthen)

The rest of my renders throughout the process of making each model.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page